• Duration: 2 minutes
  • Chorus: SATB
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Published by: Walton GIA

This is the second piece in the Beatitudes collection.  The key of C Major and the relatively straightforward choral writing belie a work of deep meaning and intensity.  There is real pathos here and choirs must sense the importance of the syncopations and the falling piano figurations: these are designed to create the effect of weeping – even sobbing.  It is Patrick’s hope that this piece will be performed at funerals and memorial services and will indeed help to ‘comfort those who mourn’.

Click here for more information about the complete Beatitudes collection >

“Beatitudes [has a] calm, serene beauty and simplicity… Creative and compelling..” GRAMOPHONE

“…capture[s] a mood of enchantment, optimism, and serenity.  Beatitudes [has] character and tenderness.” CHURCH TIMES

Buy Vocal Score:

Blessed are those who mourn,
for they shall be comforted.

Words: Matthew 5: 4 ESV